Life Talk #1

WE MADE IT HALFWAY THROUGH THE WEEK!!!  Take this time to pat yourself on the back for surviving.  Good job.  Treat yourself to some ice cream, or maybe some wine.  And if you’ve been particularly stellar at surviving this week, how about both?  You deserve it.  Adulting is hard!

So,  I’ve made a lot of changes in my life over the past year, and with that has come with a lot of realizations.  I wanted to talk about one today that’s played a big part in my day to day recently and that’s been on my mind.  A wise woman once said:

881910

This is so important, guys.  In just about any and all situations.  I will never understand why people do things that are intentionally hurtful or hateful towards others.  I will never understand why people make a hurtful and difficult situation uglier with unkind actions and pettiness.  And maybe it’s a good thing I don’t understand, I don’t know.  I know we are all probably guilty of this to a certain point, don’t get me wrong.  Mistakes are made!  We’re all human.  I’m talking about deliberately doing things that you know will really ruin someone.

Something that I’ve learned is that people can be so careless with each others feelings.  We get into these mind sets of defense, I think.  So when we go through anything from a simple argument, to a break up with a friend or significant other, we are immediately on the attack.  But the most liberating and probably cliche thing I can tell you is, that even when you feel like you are on the attack, rise above it all.  It is so much easier to be kind and treat others with respect, than to stoop down to a level of antagonizing.  I know it hurts.  It can be the most painful and empty feeling in the world when someone you thought cared throws all this negativity your way, but you will feel so much stronger if you just rise to a higher level of maturity.  In any situation like this, you should stand up for yourself and not allow yourself to be taken advantage of.  But you can do so in a way that doesn’t put anyone else down.

The only person who is affected when you hold hatred and anger towards someone or something is you.  Don’t let something like that weigh you down.  I used to feel kind of like, if I just let something go like that, it meant I was being weak.  But, I was hurting myself more by being angry and passive aggressive about things.  Standing up for myself in a way that was mature and then letting it go,  really was about me doing myself a justice.  I refuse to hold on to any hate or any anger anymore, because it only drags me down.  I have better things to do than to spend it coming up with a smart ass comment to say back to someone.  Like I said before, cliche, but treat others the way you’d want to be treated.  It’s not always for them, it’s for you.

So that concludes our first life talk, ladies and gents.  I think it was a rather good one, and it’s something that is very important to me on a personal level.  Definitely one of the best lessons and life realizations I’ve come across.  The only other thing that could have possibly made it better would have been a unicorn…

147142-lady-gaga-quote-it-s-always-wrong-to-hate-but-it-s-never-wrong-to

Annnnnd, with that, I think we’re done here!  Who’s excited for American Horror Story tonight?  You can’t tell, but I’m raising my hand.  I’ll see you guys back this week for Friday Favorites?  Same time, same place?

Sending you lots of love, glitter, and unicorns.  Stay positive, my friends!

xx Kara

 

Leave a Reply

