He Cannot Be Our President: Election Day

Hey, everyone!  I hope you had the very best of weekends.  As you may have noticed, a post for Friday Favorite’s didn’t go up this week.  That’s because when I sat down to write it, only one thing was predominately on my mind.  It’s something that has been a continued worry for me and I’ve debated on writing about it back and forth… Until now.  I’ll warn you, this is a political post.  I am an American citizen.  Tomorrow, Tuesday, November 8th 2016, will be the most important day for Americans as a whole that has occurred yet in my lifetime.  So, consider this your warning:

If the thought of “President Trump” doesn’t make you want to cry, vomit, or get the overwhelming sensation to light yourself on fire while shouting about never buying a bag of cheetos again, then this is probably not the post for you.  But thanks for stopping by.

The problem is, I’m scared.  I’m scared for my friends of all religions, races, sexualities, and my friends who are women.  Just today a friend was telling me about how she is afraid to fly in the next coming weeks and that she’s nervous for her family as well.  Another friend was telling me that he is afraid that he and his husband will be targeted if there is a certain outcome in this election.  I’m scared for myself.  I am a woman who believes strongly for myself that you love a person and not a gender.  I’m afraid for my LGBT community.  I am afraid for the trans community.  I am afraid for our children.  But most of all, I’m afraid for my country and this world.

Now, I’m not going to get too into politics.  At this point, we are 24 hours away from Election Day.  If you need a reminder of whats at stake, you can take the ISideWith Political Quiz to help you get a better understanding of the issues at hand and your stance on them during this election.  I also recommend this video: Daveed Diggs teaches you about the election.

Okay, now that we’re past that part… We need to make the right decision on Tuesday.  We have too.  There is too much at stake.  Someone who makes fun of disabled people cannot be our president.  Someone who inspires rage and hatred of any race that isn’t “white” cannot be our president.  Someone who encourages his supporters to act out in violence cannot be our president.  Someone who OK’s the abuse of the 2nd amendment in reference to another candidate cannot be our president.  Someone who wants to ban an entire religion and group of people cannot be our president. Someone who has repeatedly made fun of mental illness cannot be our president.  Someone who has to have his twitter account taken away and taken over by other adults 2 days before the election because he cannot control himself cannot be our president.  Someone who is going to tarnish and take away all the improvements we have made with inequality in America cannot be president.  Someone who jokes about taking advantage of and sexually assaulting women cannot be our president.  Someone who has this kind of temperament cannot be our president.  This is not a man who can be the leader of our country.  This is not a man who can have the nuclear codes.  This is not just about America, because in so many aspects it effects our entire world.

So, I’ll just say it:  Donald Trump terrifies me.  I think he should terrify all of us.  I want someone who can lead our country and keep all the beautifully different people here safe.  I want someone who has the experience to run our country.  I want someone who has shown time and time again that they have the stamina and the fight in them to continue to better our country to make it a better place for EVERYONE.  I want someone who loves this country, not just the money in it. I want someone who cares about the future of our children and the world they will grown up and learn in.  I want the American people to make the right decision because it is so incredibly clear.  I want someone who aspires to inspire all the right things.  Someone who inspires love, acceptance, tolerance, improvement, progression, and positive leadership.  And, maybe most of all, I want every little girl in this country to know that one day she too can grown up to be the President of the United States of America.  I think it’s high time they knew that.  And there has never been a better time than right now.

So, to my fellow Americans, I call on you to vote.  I call on you and challenge you to get your family and friends out to vote.  I can’t tell you who to vote for, all I can do is encourage you to make the right decision.  I hope with everything in me that we do.

I hope that I wake up Wednesday, November 9th 2016, and I can say these two words: Madam President.

I want to personally thank Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton for everything she has fought for in this election.  Thank you for being an example to women everywhere.  Thank you for the improvement and the progression you have shown not only as a candidate, but as a person as well.  And thank you for showing our children and our country that you never back down from a bully.

I’ll see you guys at the polls tomorrow,

xx Kara

12 thoughts on “He Cannot Be Our President: Election Day

  1. Well said. I am not an American, but an American President, is not just for America. I hope the voters realize this. Whether you like it or not, you are electing the leader of the planet. A person who can destroy or help the lives of billions of people in the world. Trump personifies every single stereotype that people who hate America quote everyday. Besides stroking his own ego, he will not do an ounce of good for America or the world…it is sad…

    Like

    • Exactly!!! This comment is SO important because of how accurate it is. I really appreciate you taking the time to leave it. I can only hope my country makes the best choice tomorrow. We are not Trump, at least not all of us. This I can promise you. Some of us get it. And I am confident that we will make the right choice come Tuesday. Thank you again for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Kara. I am glad, that the real Americans are still out there. We love Americans and I believe this is one of the most beautiful and caring places in the world, despite all its issues. I sure hope this megalomaniac is taught what American value is. I live here and I love the country and would also hold it dear to my heart….

        Like

      • I’m glad that you love it here! America has it’s moments, but you’re right, the rest of the world looks in our direction. We can’t afford to be week but most of all, we can’t afford to be hateful. Not towards anyone. Donald Trump stands for hate and violence. As I said, I’m a member of the LGBT community. He worries me. One of my best friends and her family, they’re Muslim. Many of my friends and family members are POC. I am scared for the America they would live in if a Trump presidency would occur. I have the utmost faith we will make the right choice with Hillary Clinton, but I am still very anxious about it. That’s not what I want for my country. And that’s certainly not what I want the rest of the world to see and assume when they look to the USA. I want them to see opportunities, hope, and most of all; freedom!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This post is perfect. I wish everyone would read it and truly realize what’s at stake. It’s not about a rebellion against anything Americans may not be happy with today. It’s about progress. Only one of our candidates supports progress. And she will work to unite, not divide.

    Like

Leave a Reply

