HELLO AGAIN, FRIENDS.

Hey guys!  It has been a minute, hasn’t it?!  If you haven’t kept up with my other social media pages (which you totally should, the links are on my homepage) I decided to take a break from blogging immediately after the election.  I mean, can you seriously blame me? Anywho, I’m back!  And I want to thank all of the support myself and my blog has received since the election of the actual human trash can that will be the president of the United States.  I will say, one of the most incredible things happened while I was away, and I’ll just share that with you real quick.  I was tweeting about my distress and concerns of the election result the night after IT HAPPENED, and someone reached out to me who I never, ever suspected.  Not in this lifetime or the next:

Yeah.  I know.  My personal life hero and actual magical human being J.K Rowling reached out to ME!  It was such a great feeling, and she inspired me to do exactly as she said.  I attended several peaceful protests in my area after this.  I got dressed up, made signs, met some amazing people and exchanged stories and concerns.  It was really a cool experience.  It’s such an amazing feeling to stand up for what you believe in!

Here’s the outfit I picked out for my first protest I attended in Highland Square, Ohio.

 

So, moving on.  I am really loving my new job.  It was definitely a challenge at first, but it has definitely grown on me!  It’s nice to look forward to going to work on most days!  I’ve also started practicing for next horse show season, as I think I’d like to show again next year.  I’d taken a year off due to being so busy! But this past year I’ve really learned that you have to take the time to do the things that are important to you.  So I’m definitely going to be making that happen.  This week I also got tickets to see Stevie Nicks FOR MY BIRTHDAY!!!  I’m actually seeing her twice in a matter of like, less than two weeks.  She’s going to be in town days after my 25th birthday in March and I couldn’t imagine a better way to celebrate with my friends than that!  For those of you who don’t know, Stevie is another huge inspiration of mine.  And I can’t wait to share that adventure with you too!  Around the same time, I actually have a super special road trip with some super special friends in the works.  Nothing is set in stone yet, but trust me, those blog updates are going to be a lot of fun.

Another big life update that I’m excited to share with you is I have decided to finally take my official makeup artist courses!  Right now I consider myself a self taught makeup artist, but it’ll be nice to finally have it on paper and make my favorite skill my career.  I had been focusing on insurance, but this is honestly what makes me the happiest.  I’ve already booked several clients and events, so I can’t wait to get started.  I’m even considering an assistant due to all of the inquiries I’ve gotten.    Makeup is my form of self expression and it is truly an art for me.

I can’t wait to be an extreme face painter for a living.

I’m also going to be doing a lot of traveling in 2017.  Not quite the to the extent of my Remote Year trip in 2018, but equally as exciting.  One opportunity is huge, and if you follow me on twitter you may have caught on to a few hints I’ve dropped, but I’m not going to let that surprise out of the bag just yet!  But I can, and will, tell you about how I will be MEETING THE CAST OF ONCE UPON A TIME at Once Con!!!!  I’ve decided to bite the bullet and just go.  It will be so much fun with some of the most adventurous people I’ve ever had the pleasure to know.  Plus, I think it’s time I meet my future wife Lana Parrilla.  Seriously, guys.  When I was a wee lass watching Snow White, I never thought that once day I’d grow up and have the lady hots for the Evil Queen but here we are: 


And lastly, and certainly not least, I reconnected with someone who was such an integral pillar in my life.  You might recognize her from TV, but I recognize her as a mother figure and as one of the strongest women I’ve ever know.  We were the closest of friends and had some many fun adventures together with her family.  She has played such a huge part in who I am, and I know I wouldn’t be the same person without knowing her.  We didn’t talk for too long of a time for really silly and personal reasons.  Maybe you even witnessed the ridiculousness that went down on Twitter at the beginning of the week between us.  But, we have picked up right where we left off.  This is my “long lost mother” Cathy, and I love her so very much!  She’s got a heart of gold and I’m so happy she is back in my life.

So, I guess you can say the past month has been prettt crazy.  As difficult as 2016 has been and as hard of a time I’ve had dealing with my depression, anxiety, and PTSD this year…  Right now, in this moment, I have never been happier.  I’ve taken time for myself.  I’ve done things I never thought I’d be able to do.  I’ve realized what an amazing and beautiful group of friends I have.  I’m just enjoying life and taking the time to love being me.  I’ve taken some huge steps in this past month, and I’ll be sharing that specific story in a post at the beginning of next week!

Thanks so much for catching up with me, guys.  I’m so thankful to the blog community and the people on this giant internet machine who take the time to visit my blog.  You are all unicorns!

Until next time,

xx Kara


 

 

One thought on “HELLO AGAIN, FRIENDS.

Leave a Reply

