16 going on 17.

Guys, we made it.  I’m sure there are tons of you out there who had a wonderfully fantastic year.  I just haven’t seen or heard of you, and have an abundance of doubt that you actually exist.  You’re like unicorns.  And, if you enjoyed the past year, I am very happy for you.  HOWEVER…  Basically, 2016 was a one star shit parade for the majority of us.  It is the year that every single thing that could have went wrong just went wrong.  It’s like 2016 was a speeding, derailed freight train that ended up somewhere between Trump Tower and the actual pits of hell.  Which, I suspect, are fairly close together.  Anyhow, I wanted to put something together because despite the fuckery that was 2016, I actually learned so much and ended the year happier than I have ever been.  So here’s a glimpse of my journey, my life, and some of the lessons I will carry with me onwards in 2017:

Don’t let pain define you, let it refine you.  It’s important to not get caught up in pain.  It’s also important to not surpress it either.  When we feel our pain, we deal with it, and that allows us to grow as a person.  It’s a process, but it’s so beautiful on the other side.

 


One person cannot fix all of your problems.  Have you heard the saying “it takes a village”?  Well, it’s true.  We can’t rely on one person to fix all of our problems because it’s not humanly possible or even realistic to expect of someone.  You’ll become angry and dependent on someone who simply cannot be the glue to your life 24/7.  Whether it’s a parent, a spouse, or even a friend.


You are who you allow in your circle.  This year more than ever, I learned this to be true.  Unhealthy people attract unhealthy people.  Surround yourself with healthy, inspiring, motivational, and supportive people.  You will be absolutely amazed what a difference it will make in your life.  Trust me, I know.  Sometimes this means cutting out or distancing yourself from toxic people, but as difficult as that may be, sometimes it’s necessary.


Hating or being angry with someone based on the fact their opinions differ from yours will do nothing.  Instead, be open to having a conversation about why you beliefs matter to you.  Be willing to step out of your box.  I think this year many of us were disappointed in the mind set of millions of people.  But being angry, while it is completely justified, will not fix anything.  Be a light, get organized, and get to work.  Because we apparently have a lot longer ways to go than we thought.  But we will get there.  Hatred convinces not one, but an open mind, an open heart, and love does.


Forgive.  This one speaks for itself.  Forgive them for hurting you.  Forgive them even if they’re too cowardly to admit or realize their actions, or seek a resolution.  You aren’t forgetting.  And you’re not forgiving them for them.  You’re doing it for yourself.  Forgiveness is one of the most freeing things we can do for ourselves.  I think it’s too often forgotten.

Self-care is really important.  You can’t give your all to anyone or anything if you aren’t even giving yourself your all.  I think a lot of people are conditioned to look at self care like it’s some kind of selfishness, and that is completely false.  You cannot burn yourself for the world around you without taking care of your own flame first.  Take the time to do things that make you happy.


Be more present.  Work through the past and plan on the future.  But it is so important to live presently.  Live more loudly and live more boldly.  Have a sense of fearlessness.  Live, love, and enjoy the now.  Don’t miss something amazing worrying about what happened before or what might happen next.


I think I am taking away a lot of amazing things from 2016.  I have such high hopes for 2017.  I am going to consciously strive to make this the best and happiest year of my life.  I have so many goals and I’m going to maintain a positive attitude as best I can.  I can’t wait to share all the adventures to come with you all.  What is something that you learned in the past year?  How do you plan on applying it to your life in 2017?  Let me know!!!

We might have been down this past year, but we aren’t out!  Until next time…

xx Kara

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

